West Wales Chess League - Logo

West Wales Chess League

For Chess Clubs in Neath Port Talbot, Swansea, Llanelli and surrounding districts

News Report

Richard Does It Again

Author: Glyn Sinnett, 06/04/13

Richard S Jones

Nidum's IM Richard S Jones is the 2013 Welsh chess champion.

Richard won the title outright with 6.5/7 to claim his sixth title.   He was followed by Tim Kett on 6/7, while Carl Strugnell and David Sands shared third on 5/7.   Other West Wales scores were Bill Hewitt (4/7) and Alan Young and Nicholas Evans (3/7).

In the Major/Open, Ian Thompson won with 6.5/7 followed by Andrew Bird.    David Buttell of White Knights and Olufemi Adebajo shared third on 5-7.   Other West Wales scores were Gareth Harley-Yeo and David Guy 4.5/7, Vaness Reid 4/7, Adam May and Malcolm Probert 3.5/7 Peter Bevan 3/5 and James Evans 2/7.

The Henry Golding Individual Championship Trophy

In the Minor Championship, Mike Servini won with 6/7, followed by Scott Hammett with 5.5/7 and Mohammed Binesmael with 5/7.


Forthcoming Fixtures


Results for Season 2019-2020

Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow the website now

West Wales Grading

Link to West Wales Grading Site



Welsh Chess Union

WCU Website

Rapidplay Ratings

Link to WCU Rapidplay Ratings