West Wales Chess League - Logo

West Wales Chess League

For Chess Clubs in Neath Port Talbot, Swansea, Llanelli and surrounding districts

News Report

Stanley Fortt Memorial Cup


The Stanley Fortt Memorial Cup

White Knights A Win Again and Achieve the Double (Again!)

The final of the Stanley Fortt Memorial Cup knockout competition was held on Monday 13th May 2019 between holders, White Knights A, and De la Beche A.  It was known beforehand that the De la Beche team would be without their strongest player and were likely to be outgraded on every board.  And so it proved with the Knights emeriging comfortable looking winners 3-1.  This is the fourth year in a row that they have won this competition and is the second year in a row where they have won both the League title and the KO competition.

White Knights A  3  De La Beche A  1
1  (2112)  Alan Young  1  0  Chris Price  (1996)
2  (2096)  Bill Hewitt  1  0  Tom Winfield  (1855)
3  (2100)  Jason Garcia  1  0  Neil Stuart  (1641)
4  (1954)  Adam May  0  1  Donovan Sipho  (1588)

The Stanley Fortt Memorial Cup


Forthcoming Fixtures


Results for Season 2019-2020

Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow the website now

West Wales Grading

Link to West Wales Grading Site



Welsh Chess Union

WCU Website

Rapidplay Ratings

Link to WCU Rapidplay Ratings