West Wales Chess League - Logo

West Wales Chess League

For Chess Clubs in Neath Port Talbot, Swansea, Llanelli and surrounding districts

News Report

West Wales Closed Championship - Draw for Round 2


Fighting Pawn

In Division 1 De la Beche A get off the mark in style and White Knights D drop their first points in Division 2

The second round of the West Wales Individual Closed Championship (E.J. Clarke Trophy) will be taking place on Monday 2nd December 2019 at Morriston Chess Club.  Start time is 7:30 pm.

June Evans has published the draw and it is given below.

Meanwhile is was another quiet week for most clubs but with a couple of significant matches nonetheless.

In Division 1 De la Beche A made the trip to Bryncoch to play CN Emperors in a match rearranged from Fireworks night.  Both teams were sitting on zero points so the situation was bound to change.  De la Beche's recent additions were fielded on the middle order boards and they all came good.  Wins on boards 2, 3 and 4 plus draws on the top and bottom ensured them of a comfortable 4-1 victory and lifted them off the bottom of the table.

In Division 2 White Knights D travelled to Briton Ferry to play the Giants.  With the Knights lying in second place a win would take them above De la Beche B and allow them to keep their 100% record.  They had two changes from their previous win over De la Beche C and the two teams looked evenly matched.  So it proved.  Draws on boards 1 and 4 were followed by a win on board 5 for the Giants and then a win on board 3 for the Knights.  It all came down to board 2 where a tight game eventually went in favour of the Giants.  Overall a close run affair that ended 3-2 for the Giants, who much to their surprise are now the only undefeated team in the Division.

The one remaining match was in Division 3 where Morriston G hosted UK Harriers.   With three young newcomers in the team it was perhaps not surprising that the Harriers had a straightforward win.   Only Sean Denton's win on board 2 saved the whitewash and Harriers went away 4-1 winners and a boost into second place.

E.J. Clarke Draw

Ian Jones
v Ralph Cook

Neil Stuart
v Peter Bevan

Moss McCarthy
v Albert Easton

Duncan Williams
v June Evans

Steve Edwards
v Phillip Pe

Joel Chung
v Andrew Smith

Leighton Anthony
v Daniel Chung

Tony Goodchild
v Steve Lockley

Andrew Powell
v Greg Goold

Paul Bevan
v Janet Evans

Joe Spooner
v John Davies

Dennis Thomas
v Bye


Forthcoming Fixtures


Results for Season 2019-2020

Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow the website now

West Wales Grading

Link to West Wales Grading Site



Welsh Chess Union

WCU Website

Rapidplay Ratings

Link to WCU Rapidplay Ratings